Variety Earns 98 Nominations at L.A. Push Club’s 2021 NAEJ Awards

Variety has scored 98 nominations for the 2021 National Artwork and Amusement Journalism awards, main all publications.

The awards are introduced annually by the Los Angeles Push Club.

“Thank you to the NAEJ for recognizing the tough and amazing work of our wonderful staff of writers and editors. We’re so honored,” mentioned Claudia Eller, editor-in-main of Selection.

Variety was nominated 2 times for print leisure publication, for its “Hitmakers” and “Gamechangers” difficulties. was nominated for enjoyment website. Senior vice president Tim Grey and characteristics editor Chris Willman each attained nominations for print journalist of the calendar year, while deputy new music editor Jem Aswad is nominated for on the net journalist of the 12 months.

Variety scored 6 nominations throughout the pictures and art group, such as two nods for address art, for the “Death of Cable” and “Power of Women” handles. Image director Jennifer Dorn, former creative director Raul Aguila and photographer Sophy Holland ended up acknowledged for their portrait photo of Michaela Coel, which graced the protect of the “Power of Women” problem. Aguila and photographer Greg Ruth are nominated for their go over illustration of “Mank,” and Aguila, designer Francesco Muzzi and art director Haley Kluge attained a nod for their Peacock infographic. Kluge and Aguila are also up for page format for “Wing and a Prayer.”

Of person staff members, Willman potential customers with nine nominations. In addition to his nod for print journalist of the 12 months, Willman is recognized for songs reviews, humor creating (“The Worst Tracks of 2020”), visual arts/architecture feature, celebrity information, music attribute, entertainment function, commentary assessment/craze and superstar feature for his Q&A with Brandi Carlile.

Grey was nominated 8 times, for columnist, Tv set field attribute, Tv/movie market attribute, commentary investigation/trend, on-line coverage of diversity in the leisure industry (“Civil Rights Heritage in the 1950s-60s as Witnessed By Wide variety“) and 2 times for celebrity information or element.

Aswad also picked up eight nominations, which include for his function items “Inside the Filthy Organization of Hit Songwriting” and “How Jason Derulo Cracked TikTok’s Code and Resurrected His Occupation.” Aswad is also recognized for humor composing, persona profile, commentary evaluation/development, on-line really hard news and online tender news.

Film awards editor Clayton Davis scored 7 nods, though government editor of film and media Brent Lang acquired six. Senior editor of Tv set awards and deputy Tv set editor Michael Schneider clocked 5 nominations. U.K. correspondent K.J. Yossman and movie and media reporter Rebecca Rubin are each nominated for four awards. Earning 3 nominations each and every are editor-at-massive Kate Aurthur, senior amusement and media writer Matt Donnelly, senior entertainment writer Angelique Jackson, senior culture and occasions editor Marc Malkin, supervising producer Preston Northrop, worldwide editor Manori Ravindran, deputy awards and attributes editor Jenelle Riley, main correspondent Elizabeth Wagmeister and deputy editor of Meredith Woerner.

Other Variety staff earning nominations involve main Tv set critic Daniel D’Addario, electronic style director Dan Doperalski, chief Television set critic Caroline Framke, chief movie critic Owen Gleiberman, co-editor-in-main Cynthia Littleton, movie producer and editor Tucker Morrison, South Asia/U.K. correspondent Naman Ramachandran, executive editor Ramin Setoodeh, senior artisans editor Jazz Tangcay, attributes editor Malina Saval, on the net news editor Ellise Shafer, senior Tv set editor Brian Steinberg and Italy and Middle East correspondent Nick Vivarelli.

Freelancers A.D. Amorosi, Zoe Hewitt, Janet W. Lee and Leena Tailor, alongside with David Lieberman and television producer John Wirth, also picked up nominations for their contributions to Wide range.