Jonathan McReynolds and Mali Audio : NPR

The Little Desk is doing work from household for the foreseeable upcoming. Introducing NPR Music’s Little Desk (residence) concerts, bringing you performances from throughout the region and the environment. It truly is the same spirit — stripped-down sets, an personal setting — just a different house.

An unapologetic expression of faith and gratefulness is paired with festive lights, poinsettias and ornaments in this holiday break Tiny Desk (home) concert from Jonathan McReynolds and Mali Audio.

Both musicians are prominent in the hottest era of modern gospel and inspirational artists, incorporating secular seems and outreach as an entry position into the “superior information” of gospel audio. They each follow in the footsteps of Kirk Franklin (and of Edwin and Walter Hawkins in advance of him). Independently, McReynolds and Mali Music’s output showcases a marriage of motivating messages and faith, with music that young audiences are extra attuned to. The duo came alongside one another final year to launch “Movin’ On,” which yielded “good news” of its very own in the form of a Grammy award, followed by a nomination this calendar year for their EP Jonny x Mali: Stay in LA. Given how easily they trade-off through this Tiny Desk functionality, I can see a Christmas album in their long term.

A captivating rendition of “Xmas Time is Here” commences off their performance as their properly paired voices float about an understated accompaniment, which consists of McReynolds on guitar. From there, the pair handle us to a medley of Christmas carols more rooted in faith, with McReynolds singing triumphantly, “In HIM there is no failure!” for the duration of “O Arrive, All Ye Faithful” and Mali Audio providing a stirring and meditative rendition of “Silent Night.” Subsequent the medley, McReynolds and Mali Music treat us to “Movin’ On.” Soon after an additional year of however contending with the uncertainty of a world wide pandemic, the lyrics deliver a reminder that “…my rearview are not able to look at to what God will do with my lifetime.”

Set Record

  • “Xmas Time Is Here”
  • “O Come, All Ye Trustworthy”
  • “Silent Night”
  • “Mary, Did You Know?”
  • “Pleasure to the Planet”
  • “Movin’ On”
  • “Go Convey to It on the Mountain”


  • Jonathan McReynolds: vocals
  • Mali Songs: vocals
  • Megan Parker: vocals
  • Izacc Dorn: vocals
  • Thaddeus Johnson: bass
  • Rogest “Roscoe” Carstarphen: keys
  • Jermaine Poindexter: drums


  • Video clip: Lee Cherry
  • Audio: Kenny Moran
  • Coordinator: DeeDee Deshcanel
  • Creation Assistant: Jordyn Nguyen
  • Director of Images: Charlie Wupperman
  • Digicam Operator/Gaffer: Oliver Lukacs
  • 1st AC: Sven Feightner
  • Creation Designer: Jevon Dismuke
  • Assistant Engineer: Terrence Chism
  • Audio Manager, Cellular Classes: Christine Hufenbecher
  • CCO: Eliseo Juarez Jr.
  • Manufacturing Manager: Marty Taylor

Tiny DESK Group

  • Producer: Bobby Carter
  • Video clip Producer: Maia Stern
  • Audio Mastering: Josh Rogosin
  • Very small Creation Crew: Bob Boilen, Kara Body, Joshua Bryant, Sofie Hernandez-Simeonidis
  • Govt Producer: Keith Jenkins
  • Senior VP, Programming: Anya Grundmann